Let’s get this party started…

Today is the first day of Mardi Gras. I decided to kick it off with a walk around my neighborhood to take photos of some of the decorations. St. Charles was crowded with people taking the streetcar into town. Trash cans had already been set up all along the parade route. Funny how even a trash can can be exciting.

I was going to walk back through the residential area to get home, but decided to make a short detour to Magazine to see if people were getting in the spirit. Coming around the corner, I was hit with a familiar scent, the smell of heaven on earth, the steam from a seafood boil shop. Crawfish season started last week but apparently, crab season is kicking off, too. I haven’t had crabs since my dear friend in Los Angeles, Adrienne, flew in crab dip, crab soup, and a bushel  of crabs from Maryland to celebrate my birthday… at least 5 years ago.

I bought 2 large crabs, 2 corn on the cob (boiled in spices, of course) and some horseradish since I already had ketchup and lemon at home to make cocktail sauce. I had quite the bounce in my step walking home to eat so I sorta bailed on the photo safari. Here are the best of the ones I did take.

Oh, and the crabs were outstanding!

1 Comment

Filed under Carnival, Culture, decorations and costumes, free events and lagniappe, Local Cuisine, Mardi Gras 2010, parade

One response to “Let’s get this party started…

  1. janell

    Looks like so much fun! Wish I was there!

Leave a Reply

