And now a word from Cox (R-rated)

I’m not really the sort to go in for Beavis and Butthead humor, but the good people of Cox Communications are pushing the limit of my decorum.

Cox Communications is a local favorite for telephone, internet and cable service. During Mardi Gras, A Cox van opened one of the parades and the children started yelling, “Cox! Cox!” You see where I’m going with this, yes?

I don’t remember all of the commercials I’ve seen for Cox, but here are a few of my favorite tag lines.

Cox Business – a better fit.

Keep your business fit – with Cox. (admit to hearing Tina Fey whispering in my ear – your lady business…)

And my favorite thus far (but, like Doritoes, they’ll make more…)

No one’s working faster than Cox.

Faster, Cox, faster! I suppose no one’s working harder than Cox either. Each commercial is like a Saturday Night Live skit of Alec Baldwin doing his Schweddy Balls routine. If you haven’t already seen that, it’s funny as heck:

http://s231.photobucket.com/albums/ee183/krazykatwomyn/?action=view&current=SNLPete.flv

Turns out that my friends here never really thought about it. I have been laughing my Schweddy Balls off at these commercials since I moved here and everyone around me is just getting information on the new low price of  “Cox bundling.”

Sometimes it’s funny to be the insider looking out but every once in a while, it’s a Beavis and Butthead chuckle-fest to be the outsider looking in.

— I’d already posted this when I heard a spot for a new Cox service called Powerboost.

Powerboost – It’s an extra burst of speed when you need it most that you can only get with Cox. Powerboost from Cox is smart enough to recognize large upload and download demands automatically…

Are they doing this on purpose? Are the writers chuckling in a room somewhere, “Heh heh heh, Cox, heh heh heh.” Or maybe it’s just me and I should have my brain washed out with soap.

1 Comment

Filed under entertainment industry, Mardi Gras 2010, moving

One response to “And now a word from Cox (R-rated)

  1. The new commercial features a man dressed as a giant hot dog for no discernible reason.

Leave a Reply

