New Year, New Blog Updates

My 2012 ended with the two major bangs. First, Quentin Tarantino’s Django Unchained opened nationwide on Christmas Day. I’m very proud to be part of this amazing movie in my role as Leonardo DiCaprio’s sister, Lara Lee Candie-Fitzwilly. For those who’ve seen it – yes, I did my own stunt – 6 times! For those who haven’t, it’s an action-packed and often hilarious Western (and Southern) with a beautiful love story.

The other big excitement was publishing Know Small Parts: An Actor’s Guide to Turning Minutes into Moments and Moments into a Career with a foreword by Richard Dreyfuss. Packed with over 20 years of wisdom and experience as a working actor, the book includes personal stories and advice for everything from breaking down a scene and audition tips to how to survive rejection, get work without an agent and how to talk to celebrities.

“She is a role model… and a true leading lady.  Enjoy what she has to say and see if you can see yourself in her journey.”

Kevin Costner (Academy and Golden Globe Award Winner)

“I write off most of these books.  But this one I can’t.  It stands far above most giving smart, logical, realistic and poignant advice.” 

George W. Perkins (Executive Producer: Desperate Housewives, 3-time Emmy Nominee)

Updates on the movie and the book as well as reviews and articles appear on my Facebook Page.

As to the blog, I recently updated my About Page. The old About Page focused more on why I left Los Angeles and moved to New Orleans and how the blog started and still appears at the bottom. The new About Page focuses on who I am and how the blog has evolved.

I also updated the Products Page and I’ve been furiously working on the Links Page. Lastly, I will be releasing my list of Favorite Things of 2012 within days. If you’re not already a subscriber, I hope you’ll consider receiving notifications of my blog postings.

 

4 Comments

Filed under entertainment industry

4 responses to “New Year, New Blog Updates

  1. danica sheridan

    Your book is simply wonderful. Full of insight, practical advice, and most of all… extremely readable! You choke a LOT of stuff into that small volume. I suspect “Know Small Books” could be an applied theme here. 😉

  2. Barbara Hammerman

    Loved the movie and adored you in your role!

    Surely Academy Awards nods are on the horizon!

    Warm regards, Barbara Hammerman http://Www.UBMNA.org

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

