Mardi Gras Decorations (with a Django twist)

Though I love donating my Mardi Gras beads to Arc of Greater New Orleans and Stephan Wanger‘s Guinness-record-breaking mural, my favorite use of parade throws is decorating my home for the season. Though the NFL tried to create a “clean zone” where they could tell us what to decorate our houses with, what signs we could carry and what clothes we could wear (!!!) , the ACLU has stepped in to protect our right to party our way  (I, for one, will be wearing Saints gear every chance I get!). So, I’ve beaded my fence, wreathed my door and redecorated my Christmas tree as a Mardi Gras tree.

I like to make ornaments that commemorate the year I’ve had or the one ahead so this year I added a few Django Unchained accents to my collection. This year’s New Year’s baby has a red sash with a black chain on it and I couldn’t resist trying to recreate two of my extraordinary costumes and hairdos from my part as Leonardo DiCaprio’s sister, Lara Lee.

8 Comments

Filed under Carnival, Culture, decorations and costumes, entertainment industry, Mardi Gras 2013, parade, the Saints

8 responses to “Mardi Gras Decorations (with a Django twist)

  1. What a great job you did there! I really like those Lara Lee ornaments. Did you like her in the movie? I think she was memorable. Though as the other female characters, she was a little left out. I would like to own ornaments like that.

  2. Tracy

    The NFL “clean zone” is ridiculous. The NFL tried to tell New Orleanians how to dress and decorate their houses. Do they know who they are messing with? Football needs to lighten up. Glad the ACLU stepped in. Have a great Mardi Gras!

    • Then they hung a sign for “The Talk” on Andrew Jackson’s statue in Jackson Square (which has since been removed). For those who forget, Jackson was the President of the United States of America. Would the NFL and CBS have hung advertising on the Lincoln Memorial? We are all very grateful to be hosting the Super Bowl here for the 10th time but lines must be drawn.

  3. Linda

    Love your Nyx ornament!

  4. W/ Super Bowl falling right smack in the middle of Mardi Gras- you’d think the NFL would embrace that for the game goers added FUN! it only enhances the party.. w the game as the Lagniappe!! LOVE the ornaments!! I brought Mardi Gras here with me when I moved here– everyone thought I was nuts.. oh well.. s’tru 😉 Remember the dead tree limb I always kept up? went from funky Cmas orn.’s to Mardi gras to easter.. easy transission.LOL.. GLAD you’re enjoying the Festivities!! I SURE do miss that! you can take the girl out a Mardi Gras~land but you cant take it outa the girl! for sure! Love ya baby sis

    • Yes, and our Mardi Gras originated in Mobile, as you know, so you’d have to miss it! I think the two goals of the NFL were that they were trying to get permission to put NFL or brand signage on people’s homes. The other goal was that many people here proudly wear “F*ck Goodell” t-shirts – with the * being a fleur de lis, and some hang flags or banners on their home to the same effect. A couple businesses have signs saying they won’t serve him, etc. I think the NFL wants to control that and put a positive face on their now-obvious witch hunt. We in the Who Dat Nation ain’t havin’ it. This is our country too and we have a right to our frustration.

Leave a Reply

