Krewe of Alla

This was my first time seeing the Krewe of Alla parade, the 4th oldest Krewe. This was the first time it rolled the Uptown route having just moved from the West Bank where it’s rolled since the 1930’s. I imagine it was both disappointing for them not to see the same familiar route and faces and also exciting to roll St. Charles and Canal with the big crowds of locals and tourists. Though she was on the opposite side of the Captains float, on the turnaround, I did get to spot Margie Perez, a local musician and the muscle behind Mardi Gras bead recycling at ARC of Greater New Orleans.

Readers of this blog already know that I’ve run out of time to add much detail and label most of the photos. One reason I’m so stretched is tonight is my first time ever parading in Mardi Gras. I will be proudly dancing down St. Charles in my pink corset and wig with the Pussyfooters in the Krewe of Muses parade behind float #14.

Leave a comment

Filed under Carnival, Culture, decorations and costumes, free events and lagniappe, history, Mardi Gras 2014, parade

Leave a Reply

