Who Dat Game Day Poem

I’m no poet, but I felt inspired to express my feelings about the Saints and what it means to be a fan – in rhyme.

For Catholics, feel free to substitute the first 2 lines with, “I was born Catholic/(Though an angel, I ain’t)”

Who Dat Game Day Poem

I wasn’t born Catholic

An angel I ain’t,

But come Sunday morning

I pray for my Saints.

***

Young and old,

We don Black & Gold,

Take our place in the Dome

Or on the couch in our home.

***

We shout out “Who Dat!?!”

While hoping for a Two-Dat.

We won that Super Bowl

And it fed our heart and soul.

***

Our city had a rebirth

When our team was best on Earth.

We’re still dancing in the streets

Looking for that repeat.

***

Bless our boys win or lose.

Around here, we’re used to the blues.

But our team makes us believe.

They’re a symbol of all we achieve.

***

So, I wasn’t born Catholic

And an angel I ain’t,

But come Sunday morning

I’ll pray for my Saints.

BeFunky_fleurgameday.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Super Bowl 2010, the Saints

Leave a Reply

