Christmas Tree 2014

Readers of this blog know I’ve been working on 3 movies in the last 2 months – 2 at the same time. Though I feel abundantly blessed, it’s been difficult to shop for presents or even get into the holiday spirit. But, I did find the time to decorate our tree. I had big plans of making my annual Sculpey ornaments. I planned on a bride and groom dressed in our silly, fun wedding clothes. I also planned to make a Pussyfooter ornament with the 2014 uniform and, of course, the year-ahead-themed Baby New Year.

Alas, I have not even come up with the Baby New Year theme yet, much less made any ornaments. But, I did get the tree up and I wanted to share some of my Christmas cheer with you. The ornaments have been made over the last 10 years or so. When I lived in Los Angeles, my friend Angela and I would get together on Sundays during the holiday season and make ornaments. Our “Craft Sundays” are still one of the things I miss most about L.A. Most of the ornaments are molded from Sculpey clay and baked to harden. There are also those made with glass beads and wire.

Merry Christmas to you all and thanks to all of you who enjoy my blog. This blog is a labor of love for me and I’m so very grateful for my readers, subscribers and those who love my love of New Orleans.

When things slow down, I will be working on my Favorite Things list for 2014. Feel free to make suggestions here or on Facebook or Twitter. And to those of you who’ve purchased my first novel, Lemonade Farm, thank you and I truly hope you enjoy the 1970’s coming-of-age odyssey of a hyper-aware preteen which evolves into the story of an era and the evolution of the American family.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under decorations and costumes

4 responses to “Christmas Tree 2014

  1. Julie Bade

    Hope you and Andy had a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you both!

  2. Mark Caraway

    Thank you, Laura, for your wonderful blog. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your husband.

Leave a Reply

